Barbados Minister new chair of CTO

Richard Seay, Barbados’ Minister of Tourism and International Transport, was elected Chair of the Caribbean Tourism Organization (CTO). The election took place on Sept. 17 in St. Thomas, USVI during the CTO’s Annual General Meeting. Sealy succeeds USVI Commissioner of Tourism, Beverly Nicholson-Doty and will serve a two-year term.

In related news, the Puerto Rico Tourism Company (PRTC) has won the CTO’s top sustainable tourism award, the Caribbean Excellence in Sustainable Tourism (CEST) Award. The accolade was presented in collaboration with online travel and tourism industry site, TravelMole.

This award is presented to a destination or tourism-related company in recognition of excellence in planning and managing a diversified tourism product using sustainable tourism concepts and core values, said the CTO.